Parsley Gone to Seed -for the beneficials!

I let my Italian parsley plant go to seed because I wanted to attract beneficial insects to my other veggie plants. You probably hear the term ‘beneficial insects’ a lot. I know I do, but what the heck are beneficial insects?? Well, the two benefits that “good” bugs can bring to the garden are either eating other bugs that are considered pests or being pollinators. So predators and pollinators are what we want in our bug population. These types of insects are attracted to certain types of flowers and some of their very favorites are the flowers of herbs and greens from your food garden that have gone to seed. So it’s not always a bad thing to let your cilantro or lettuce bolt, as long as you know that it’s no longer tasty as food for you (bitter!), but now is serving another purpose- contributing to the health of your garden!

2 Comments

Filed under food gardens, me in the garden, potted gardens, victory gardens

2 responses to “Parsley Gone to Seed -for the beneficials!

  1. Is this really just an excuse because you forgot to cut it back???? 🙂

    • carlalazzarini

      Jeff wanted to pull it when it started to bolt and I said, “No! Think of the bugs!!” …and look- I got a blog post out of it!!

Leave a Reply

