A Rare Commercial Commision

Most of my work is for private homes, though a small percentage of my clients are small businesses. I rarely do large large commercial designs, but a couple of years ago I designed the plantings for a large apartment complex in Silicon Valley. The property manager already had his construction crew and he wanted me to draw up a design and planting plan for all the non-paved areas. I also was hired as creative consultant to supervise the installation of it all. It was a new level of landscape design for me. I almost turned the job down because, “I don’t do that.” But there’s one thing I’ve learned over the years- if I feel like something is over my head or out of my league, and my first impulse is to say no… I don’t. I think on it and get others’ opinions. I’m glad I pushed myself out of my comfort zone and said yes to this one.

This is a bridge separating the two parking lots. I had them terrace the slopes on both sides and build the arbor above. I chose Wisteria and Lonicera (Honeysuckle) to climb on the arbor and planted the terraces with a variety of shrubs- including Loropetalum, Lantana, Cistus, Rosemary and Salvia. All work horses of the plant world- chosen for there good behavior!

A long shot:

…a little closer:

…and a close up of the other side:

 

4 Comments

Filed under jobs

4 responses to “A Rare Commercial Commision

  1. André

    Beautiful, Carla. Great job!

  2. Carolyn Booser

    Looks like an Italian villa Carla! Beautiful!

  3. margo manley

    Delightful !

    Let’s meet soon

    Hoping all well,
    Margo

Leave a Reply

